top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAstrid Wells Cooper

Limerick

Limerick, Ireland

An ancient city well versed in the skills of war


There once was a global pandemic

So we hoarded loo paper in panic

Spoke via zoom

From a bedroom

While I went on holiday to Lim'rick


Alright Limerick – where’s the craic at? Give me your best pandemic-distractions. I’m expecting big things from you!

The welcoming party seems a little pushy …


Being that the River Shannon is the longest river in the UK, if this is an example of the swan population in any stretch, I’m assuming that you have more swans here than anywhere in the world.


Fabulus!

Limerick – you’re so old you were founded by Vikings way back in 812.



They first settled on Kings Island, which has seen its fair share of drama….


…Vikings, loot, pillage, build, kill, peace, plague, murder, peace, renovate, boiling oil, build, covid. And there you go – a thousand years.


I like that Kings Island is bang, smack in the middle of the city. No shoving the oldies out of sight when they get a bit crumbly and embarrassing for you, eh Limmerick?!

But to prove you’re not stuck in the past, I see you’ve made a big shiny bridge. The Living Bridge no less.

I can see where you’re going and I like it. The longest footbridge in Ireland looks like a fine thing to have at your University.

Remember the brief though, Limerick – fun, funny, exciting - good craic etc…

Old, green and pretty. With a strange little magical story. This is what Ireland is famous for. Bring it on, Limerick.


Introducing Lough Gur where a guy (Earl Gerald) turned into a finch to impress his girlfriend but he was killed by a hawk and then banished to the lake (as a dead bird still?) and comes out every 7 years to see if the soles of his shoes have worn down.

Cliched.



There’s this little house nearby. I’m getting an idea about who this Gerald character was…


Ah yes, I see you have the obligatory “Circle of mystery” at Lough Gur.


I appreciate that the game of “what is that circle for” has given me many joyful minutes of brain holiday. Thanks. Aggressive morris dancing battles? Leprechaun jail? Miniature hurling arena?

If you’re aiming on keeping my whole family happy then Limerick, thankyou. You can tick that box. Now that we know Ballyhoura has 100km of the best mountain bike trails in Ireland, we’ve got one or two family members on board for sure.


But I am expecting a little more, if I’m honest, Limerick. The bridge is ok; the swans look, well frankly, terrifying; yes, I’d peer in to the lake to see if I could see Gerald and the Kings Castle sure looks old and castley. I just feel like I need a bit of je ne sais quoi. I little bit of the x factor. Do you have anything else up your metaphorical sleeve Limerick?

The Terra Nova Fairy Garden?



Cute but at this stage, I'm sorry to say, it's a “Not at this stage” from me, Limerick. You may take your craic and be on your way.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page