top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAstrid Wells Cooper

Espoo

Espoo, Finland


Seriously, this was a gimme. How could we go past Espoo?! Even if it is pronounced Ez-bo. As in Ez then Bo (like you were saying box but couldn’t commit to the x).

Espoo has been ranked as the most sustainable city in Europe. It is also the second largest city in Finland. It is 528 square kilometres and doesn’t have a city centre, but rather seven different regions. I am in love with Espoo. It has 71 lakes, the largest is Lake Bodom. It’s official animal is the flying squirrel and its official bird is the blackbird (I guess that if you get a great animal, you have to choose a less than impressive bird).


If you like sightseeing, Espoo will sort you out. Get an extra SD card for your camera because you are going to fill it up!



There are lots of museums and old houses in Espoo. The most famous museum is the Näyttelykeskus WeeGee aka the WeeGee Exhibition Centre opened in 2006 and hosts many museums but the jewel in its crown is EMMA – Espo Museum of Modern Art






Emma looks like a good sort.



Espoo has lots of natural attractions which you can enjoy in summer and winter.

Nuuksio National Park is definitely worth spending some time in. Better take the bus.

It’s situated in the north of Ring III Road, between the main roads number 1 (to Turku) and number 120 (to Pori) so it should be easy to find.



More nature you say? Nuuksio has all sorts of critters. The famous flying squirrel can be found in Nuuksio as well as woodpeckers and….

…reindeers! (And inexplicably, Santa)



One of the more spectacular lakes to visit would have to be Kaitalampi Lake

If you are sick of all that nature and want a bit of good old fashioned family fun with real plastic, visit the Serena Waterpark – excuse me but I am referring to the LARGEST WATERPARK in the NORDICS (that’s a lot of floating scabs and bandaids!).

While we are very familiar with waterparks, to my knowledge there isn’t a water park where you can also ski in Brisbane.

Oh yes, I was well on my way to Serena Waterpark until I found out they also run disco's. Bandaids are one thing - but floating condoms....?


Clearly I'm getting old.

But I'm not too old to try outdoor ice skating! Espoo has more than 90 Ice skating rinks. My pick is the Tapiola Ice Garden – 300 metre track around a lake and a rink with music playing and, what? Oh yes, entry is free of charge!

I would vote this equal or slightly better than Moonah ice rink in Tasmania.

Need more? There is about 200km of cross country ski tracks in and around Espoo and they are even lit up so you can go for a ski in the evening. The most popular is Oittaa, on the southern shore of Lake Bodom.



Now I know by now you must be thinking can I swim in the frozen lake? Well, yes you can! It’s a (not surprisingly) popular activity. I think it looks great fun (not true - I think it looks like my idea of hell.) Only better if you could do it nude with 999 other people…



Other interesting facts about Espoo

· The little known Metal band called Children of Bodom comes from Ispoo and is named after the unsolved murders that took place at the shore of Lake Bodom in 1960. Gulp.

· There are over 500 speed bumps in Espoo.

Beach life is very common in Espoo although I must say – ergh. That doesn’t look so great…


Yes please. I am moving to Espoo.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page