top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAstrid Wells Cooper

Dum Dum

Dum Dum, India

Dum Dum is a city in the Indian state of West Bengal. It is close to Kolkata and in historical times, it would have been close to Calcutta.

Dum Dum was not my choice as a research project but Dallas was outvoted when I read the list of possible cities to study. I am surrounded by immaturity. Seriously, they behave like children.

Dum Dum was made famous by a song called DumDum. It’s major export is a disease spread by sandflies called Dum Dum fever. I should have studied Dallas.

Here is the link to the song https://youtu.be/w3MMMgxjLFk which is worth watching if you have finished cutting the grass by hand…

Major markets in Dum Dum include the Patipukur Fish market. I think I can smell it from here.


That's it, I am not going to Dum Dum.

South Dum Dum, India

After arriving in Dum Dum I immediately left, and instead took my PTSD South Dum Dum.

South Dum Dum is described as a posh city though I suspect we have different definitions of the word “posh”. Maybe its comparative.

There are places to visit in South Dum Dum. Like the obligatory phallace although this one is modelled on Big Ben.


The Tala Jheel Park


And look, there are nice hotels in Dum Dum:


Now I know a lot of people would find this sort of adventure alluring. They are not me. Dum Dum is for dum dums.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page