top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAstrid Wells Cooper

Casablanca

Casablanca, Morocco



Largest City on Morocco where main languages are Arabic and French. I feel confident I could return a screwdriver, ask for pepper or half a chicken and chips, s’il vous plait. It is a Muslim country so I probably couldn't utilise my other key phrase and get 6 slices of ham.

Boasting the largest minaret in the world, it seems the perfect opportunity for a second giant condom. To my knowledge, this hasn’t happened yet.


Nature isn’t a priority in Casablanca but it does have some beaches and a forest. Casablanca’s beach is gritty and surf-focused. Quicksilver surf pro competition held there every September.



The Bouskoura forest was planted in the 20th Century, it has eucalypts, palms and pine trees.

Despite being almost completely flattened by an earthquake and then a tsunami in a particularly disappointing day in 1755, there are still some beautiful parts of historic Medinas – Old Medina – where you can enjoy markets, marvel at old city walls, forts and narrow alleyways (marvellous). Be aware they lots of people get lost here and this may be your new home forever…


The Kings Palace is very pretty and frequently photographed

But I know what you’re waiting for, let’s talk about the elephant in the room. The film.




Not surprisingly, it was filmed in Hollywood. However, a recreation of Rick’s Café (opened in 2004) has replicated the set of the 1942 classic film complete with the décor and music from the film. It is several stories high with individual table settings and designs. As I have not seen the film, this doesn’t really interest me.



Prior to this research project I would have been interested and a little bit excited with the concept of visiting the romantic city of Casablanca. Now, not so much. Here’s some bullet notes that swayed my decision:

· Casablanca has a moderate to high crime rate so avoid using a mobile phone while on the street as thieves are known to use motorbikes to zoom past and steal phones.

· Women should not walk around the city and all people should avoid wearing jewellery and watches.

· Often you are asked to remove your shoes before entering some buildings. But then often your shoes will get knicked.

· Only drink water from bottles with a sealed cap. Or you’ll get sick.

· Don’t get ice. Or you’ll get sick.

· Don’t eat washed raw vegetables. Or you’ll get sick. For trying to be healthy.


And to top it off….

Casablanca had the reputation as a home to pirates



I think I'll watch pirates from the comfort of my lounge room with my water, ice and vegetables, holding my phone and not getting mugged. Sorry Casablanca, the tribe has spoken.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page